Giving in to Chalk Paint

21 Aug

Just finished the fall issue of VintageKC, and as I await its completion at the printer, I’ve started to think of all the projects and ideas I’ve been neglecting for the past three months. We’re in the process of swapping our bedroom and office and I cleared out a lot of space with my recent vintage garage sale. Sorry Etsy, I just don’t have time for you anymore.

While there are some cosmetic details we need to fix upstairs, not to mention replacing two windows, I’m ready for the change. And one project I want done before we move around is painting our bedroom set. I found the four-piece set on Craigslist a while ago and it’s surely 1970s plastic-type brown loveliness.

A lot like the one in this tutorial. If only I had the patience to tackle a top like that!

I have a long dresser, a tall chest, a nightstand and a headboard. It’s going to be a lot of painting, but I thought I’d give chalk paint a try, as it’s all anyone is talking about these days. Plus, no priming, no sanding, and overall less paint. So what to do?

Maybe something two-toned? I love this bright, fresh white. And I love Annie Sloan Duck Egg.

Via

Solid Duck Egg?

Via

I’m also in love with this mixture of Annie Sloan Provence and Duck Egg. I’m a sucker for anything green.

Via

But hey, what about this classy gray? Annie Sloan French Linen?

Via

But I suppose it wouldn’t work with my brown bedspread.

Then there’s the vintage and lovely feel of yellow. Annie Sloan Arles.

Via

And you know, there’s always white.

Via

I’m not into distressing, I like the crisp painted look. But so. many. options. What’s a girl to do? Help please! đŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Giving in to Chalk Paint”

  1. Geri Wurth August 21, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Hi Erin,

    Wow. A bunch of good choices! I like the crispness of the two-color dresser in blue and white. White is also fresh, but I wonder if the polycoat on top of white would give it a bit of a yellowish cast? All of us at Ju Ju have had issues with white paint when the piece isn’t aged. You might ask the chalk paint ladies. : )

    The green is beautiful. And I love the gray. Gray and brown can look super together, especially when you add some burlap or sisal textures or silver.

    Just my two cents. : ). Good luck!

    Geri from Ju Ju

  2. vanessa August 21, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    I like the gray. Or, I’ve seen someone paint the dresser white (whatever color you choose) and keep the drawers brown (unpainted) and it looked pretty cool w/ unique hardware/handles added.
    Good luck…I know it’ll be awesome!

  3. arzea August 28, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    I love all your options!!

    I also just finished a project with AS Chalk Paint for the first time, check it out if you want- http://azcubed.wordpress.com/2012/08/28/refinished-farmhouse-hutch-with-tutorial/

    • Erin Shipps August 29, 2012 at 8:35 am #

      Thanks! Love the hutch!!

      • arzea August 29, 2012 at 10:32 am #

        thanks!

  4. Connie in Hartwood April 19, 2014 at 10:25 am #

    Can’t go wrong with your initial idea of Duck Egg and Old White. A tiny bit of distressing adds character … not the hit-it-with-the-sander so it looks like it came out of the dumpster look that we see so much of. Wood tops are my favorite, varnished with polyurethane for durability and easy care. If you want, I will be happy to talk you through it.

Leave a Reply

