Rainbow Cake and the Forgotten Sugar Cookies

2 Jul


It’s no secret that I like to bake. A lot. So when birthdays come around I get all giddy. I thought I’d share how to do the rainbow cake from Liam’s second birthday as well as some sweet cookies that I totally forgot and left in the freezer.

First mix up a box of white cake mix (gasp…not from scratch? Um…not this time folks, do you know how crazy I get with birthdays?) and put 1/2 cup of batter into six bowls.

Dye the batter in the bowls so they are vibrant and then scoop 1/4 cup of each color on top of one another. If you are doing two layers, do the opposite order in the second pan.

Then stack, frost and enjoy! I used a simple vanilla buttercream recipe and topped it with M&Ms. People are so surprised when you cut into this white cake!

Next, since the party was Yo Gabba Gabba themed, I wanted to make some cookies that looked like Brobee. See tattoo:
So I got the idea to buy two pre-made sugar cookie doughs and roll them up together to get the stripes. One package I dyed green, the other I left natural. Roll both doughs out onto floured wax paper and when they are roughly the same size, flip one onto the other and roll up. I added sprinkles to the outside for some fun.

Then freeze the dough because after working with it this much, it will be very soft. After it is frozen, cut it into 1/2″ slices and place on a cookie sheet, baking according to directions. And for the record, they spread like mad, so put them farther apart than I did! 🙂


They turned out cute and with good flavor, but kind of crunchy. It was definitely an experience…

One Response to “Rainbow Cake and the Forgotten Sugar Cookies”

  1. Amy@BuffaloRoam July 3, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    You are amazing! That is one lucky little boy you got there!

Leave a Reply

