A Boy Turns 2

25 Jun


You may have heard about my son. He’s pretty cool. And despite my sneaking suspicion that his existence has all been a dream, he turned two yesterday.

2…

A year ago I had a child who had just turned 1 and who would not walk for five more months. A year ago this bright child ‘o mine was still developing his personality, which is in full-swing, hey-I’m-2-and-I-have-an-opinion mode. But he truly is the most wonderful gift I ever received.


We celebrated Saturday with a Yo Gabba Gabba-themed gala. And while my son likes YGG and knows all the characters, the theme was really more for me. And really this is the last year I really get to decide the theme, right? Two rules I have for Liam’s birthdays: Never go as overboard as I did the first year; and there can never be too much color.


If you’ll notice there are only 18 cupcakes…odd number right? Well when Uncle Ross stopped by to deliver Liam’s birthday present (his old matchbox cars…how sweet is that?) early, a certain rat terrier who shall remain nameless did this:


My reaction was two fold: Kick the dog out the back door/Thank God he didn’t get more than six.


I made fewer things this year. Last year I made three cupcakes from scratch all with made from scratch icings. This year I used two box cake mixes and made the buttercream from scratch. The cake was fun with a surprise inside:

I’ll put a tutorial on this cake up later. And see these adorable napkins? They’re vintage from 1985 and I found them at a flea market in Branson. Love.

I also made the Brobee watermelon and the pennant banner, which only took one Bachelorette’s worth of work. 😉 And the colorful rice krispy balls in the cups are meant to look like flowers. They’re just balled up rice krispy treats made with a big ole bag of fake fruity pebbles on sticks. Kids loved them.


Fun was had by all even though it was 90-some degrees outside and Liam got some wonderful gifts and spent some great time with family and friends.

And kids left with awesome tattoos…

Happy birthday little man. I am so thankful you chose me to be your mommy.

P.S. More birthday madness continues later this week. We spent all of Sunday with Liam doing everything he wanted to do. 🙂

4 Responses to “A Boy Turns 2”

  1. Amy@BuffaloRoam June 25, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Happy birthday to Liam! Looks like he had one heck of a cool party!

  2. vanessa June 25, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    So bummed we missed out, looks awesome!

  3. Don Jones June 25, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Such an awesome boy 2!

  4. Michael Fry June 27, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    You are awesome, but I don’t know how you do all that you do. Aren’t two year olds fun.

Leave a Reply

