Heart Healthy Muffins

8 Mar

I’m straying a bit from the norm today, but in addition to treasure hunting, magazine creating and loving on my family, I also enjoy baking. A lot. I also enjoy eating these baked things. A lot. However, with a family history of heart disease and my own diagnosis of high cholesterol about 5 years ago, I’ve started taking food more seriously.

I love muffins. Any excuse to eat cake for breakfast, right? I was craving a bluberry muffin, which in itself is not terrible, but the giant canister of oats on my counter is a constant reminder for me to get more oats in my diet. I decided to try and craft a muffin with two very heart-friendly ingredients: oats and berries.

I found the basic muffin recipe in my BH&G cookbook from 2005…wow that’s old! It had an option for oatmeal muffins and blueberry muffins, so I thought, why not combine both? I also added half whole wheat flour and applesauce instead of oil (a common substitution around this house when baking).

Here’s my adapted recipe:

Heart Healthy Mixed Berry Oat Muffins
2/3 c. all-purpose flour
2/3 c. whole wheat flour
3/4 c. oats
1/3 c. sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 beaten egg
3/4 c. 1% milk
1/4 c. applesauce
1 c. fresh or frozen berries

Streusel topping:
Combine 3 T. all-purpose flour, 3 T. brown sugar, and 1/4 t. ground cinnamon. Cut in 2 T. butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in 2 T. chopped nuts.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease 12 muffin cups, set aside.
In medium bowl, combine flours, oats, sugar, baking powder and salt. Make a well in the center and set aside.
In another bowl combine egg, milk and applesauce. Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir just until moistened.
Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each 2/3 full. Sprinkle streusel topping over batter in cups. Bake for 18 to 20 min or until golden and a wooden toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes, then remove and serve warm.

I think I may still need a little tweaking, but overall I was happy with my Frankenstein muffins. We’ve been on whole wheat for a long time now, so my tastebuds are used to, and really love, the nutty depth of whole wheat. The oats definitely make them oatmealy, but they are very filling because of that. And I might add, filled with good stuff. šŸ˜‰ The berries add great sweet/tart flavor and the streusel topping adds just enough sweetness.

How about you? I’d love to get more heart-healthy recipes in my repertoire. Share yours below!

Leave a Reply

