Rustic DIY Winter Wreath

11 Jan

Last fall with inspiration from friends, I tackled my first seasonal wreath. This time around I fell in love with this rustic winter wreath.

I’ll admit this project has taken me a tad longer than usual, but it’s Jan. 11 in Kansas and it’s still 50 degrees outside. It’s been around 60 degrees for a couple of weeks. It’s so warm I just couldn’t get myself in the winter mood, even with Christmas passing. But, the warm weather has been a blessing in the painting outside department, which helped a lot of projects move along.

So here she is, my lovely winter wreath!

My son says “SUN!” whenever he sees this wreath. Zooming out, I’m sure I need to lower it, but all be darned if I can find the motivation…

This wreath was a no-brainer as we had quite a few fall wind storms and a lot of fallen branches. I just snapped off small straight sticks of varying widths and snipped them at random lengths. Then I divided them evenly and sprayed them with white, aqua and turquoise spray paint. I then snagged a cheap foam circle from Hobby Lobby and hot glued the sticks around it.

After the first layer, it was obvious I needed a second to further conceal the foam ring. So out to the yard for more sticks, more paint, more glue. Thank goodness for the warm weather! This time I cut the sticks shorter. The hedge trimmer worked well for this purpose.

So there she is. Hope you like her. She adds some color to the dull winter I’m sure has to be coming around the corner, right? But she still has that rustic winter feel I was going for and will take us right in to spring without a hitch.

Post links to your winter decor projects, I’d love to see them!

Linking to

4 Responses to “Rustic DIY Winter Wreath”

  1. Amy January 11, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    This is fantastic! I’m pretty sure I pinned that same wreath. Good job!

    • eshipps January 11, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      Yeah I’m pretty sure you did, too. Thanks!

  2. Leslie January 11, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    I just love it and I am glad I am not the only one that uses hedge trimmers like scissors. Thanks for sharing!

    • eshipps January 12, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

      Thanks Leslie! The giant scissors image made me lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

