Bluebirds of Happiness

25 Oct

K-Pax is one of my favorite Kevin Spacey movies, and one of the more endearing moments involves mental patients searching for the Bluebird of Happiness. This bird throughout our world symbolizes (according to Wikipedia) cheerfulness, happiness, prosperity, hearth and home, good health, new births, and the renewal of springtime.

I found this lovely pair at an estate sale for $1, and while I love a good vintage finish, I just knew these two deserved a good ole coat of spray paint.

I really debated on the color. I have acquired a plethora of spray paint and the decision came down to royal blue and cherry red, both glossy. Since I tend to favor red, I decided to try out the blue, and with the above description of the Bluebird of Happiness, it was probably the right choice.

I spray primed and painted these two lovebirds and I think they turned out quite nice. This is mid-spraying:

And this is a more realistic color image. It’s dark, but it gets dark so early now, this is what I have to deal with. They are really more royal blue.

Bringing life to old, dingy treasures is fun and super easy! These Bluebirds of Happiness make me smile. What piece in your home makes you happy every time you look at it? Leave me a comment and tell me about it!

Happy hunting!

One Response to “Bluebirds of Happiness”

  1. Amy October 26, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Blue was the right choice! Oddly enough, right now, my favorite thing is my “fireside” plug in! Can a smell be a favorite thing in your house?? It smells like fall, and bonfire, and outdoors. mmmm….

Leave a Reply

