Weekend Strawberries and Furniture Binge

19 Oct

Last weekend was a great weekend for treasure hunting. Most of the time I’m buying things to resell, but this weekend was a good weekend for ME (and my birthday monies). First, my favorite piece, which turned out even better than I dreamed. When I refinished our entertainment unit (this re-purposed buffet) I sadly realized none of the components (dvd player or stereo) would fit in the side compartments. So for a while now we’ve had a makeshift stand holding the dvd player so our son doesn’t go crazy without his Baby Einstein. It was a nightstand my mom stained for me, that would be fine and dandy except for the fact that our beloved Francisco chewed one of the corners off and I have yet to fix it (in 5 years). So when I spotted a fantastic piece half-off at a Brown Button estate sale on Saturday, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. She ain’t perfect, but she’s just lovely in this space.


And now I have storage for the dvd player which is mostly out of sight. AND a nice place to display seasonal decor, like these pumpkins from my surprise birthday party. Speaking of display space, check out the top of this piece!

The gold inlay on the inset faux something-or-other…I’m kind of in Heaven with this one.

Anyway, on to the rest of the weekend’s loot.

From the left: A 3-piece strawberry sugar/creamer/napkin holder set ($3), embroidered napkin/small table cloth set ($4.50), six flower coasters in original packaging ($.75), two ceramic birds ($1), eight woven placemats ($2), retro apron ($2), orange framed yarn art ($1), white/yellow ceramic bowl/lid ($1), set of four thin woven placemats with yellow napkins and flower napkin holders ($3.50), yellow mushroom pot holder ($1), and finally a set of five strawberry mugs ($1.25). This collection was actually from two estate sales and two garage sales. I also bought the husband a couple of records (Chet Atkins and the Beach Boys) since I ended up being gone longer than I had planned and he’s always so kind to watch the babe.

I also purchased this awesome plant stand (with a box full of pots that I’m in desperate need of since my spider plants decided to sprout more babies than ever this year) for $5, so now my spider plants have a place to live inside this winter.

What I’m most excited about however is a pile of furniture in my garage:

Ignoring the shiny dark oval table which I did not purchase last weekend, there is a rustic long coffee table on the right that I’ll probably replace the legs on ($19), and an amazing blond maple mid-century table with chrome legs (detached) that I plan to clean up with some steel wool and resell ($40). Then there is a blue coffee table that opens up on two sides of the top. I have great big plans for this that I’m very excited about. And it only cost me $3. The mid-century table and the blue piece were from the same sale. The guy was wanting to get rid of everything and made me a great deal on the maple table. After I invited my dad and stepmom to come to the sale because of the millions of dolls, they spent $50 so I cleverly negotiated the blue table noting the fact that I brought the guy $50 worth of business and all I had left in my pocket was $3. I also purchased this corner stand from him for $5, but it’s already out the door at my boss’ house for $10. I love turning a quick profit!

Whew…longest treasure-hunting post ever I’d say. Happy hunting everyone! Looking forward to a weekend working on projects!

Find all of these treasures and more for sale in my Etsy store.

2 Responses to “Weekend Strawberries and Furniture Binge”

  1. Jessaca October 19, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Do you keep things like the two ceramic birds as is or do you paint things like that a la YHL’s animals? Loving the plant stand. I have a really fun plant stand from Nell Hill’s that has chandelier crystals that hang off the scalloped edge. Right now it’s being used as a humidifier holder in Vincent’s room though. That’s multipurpose!

    • eshipps October 19, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      I will paint the birds. I don’t always do that, but definitely will this time.

Leave a Reply

