Heaven in Downtown Overland Park

14 Sep

When I get to Heaven, I hope it looks something like TLC Thrifty Boutique. Teresa’s collection is simply fabulous, and her prices are great. She moved in to the Downtown Overland Park, KS, strip about a month ago. The strip is really taking off with some one-of-a-kind stores to attract pedestrian traffic as developers look ahead at the revitalization of the area. I’m lucky enough to live within walking distance and ever since Teresa’s store opened, I’ve been dying to go in. I mean just look at what sits outside, begging you to venture in…

I stopped in during a lunch break once and Teresa and I hit it off, seeing as how we share a common passion, and I’ve already gained such valuable knowledge from her in just two visits. She agreed to let me come back and take pictures for Grandma Great’s Treasures. So Liam and I hoofed it out the door (after only minor setbacks of having to clean the stroller, which had been left out in the rain, changing a diaper and loading up all our stuff just to walk down the street) to make it before TLC closed at 6 p.m. But we made it and the weather was simply gorgeous for such a walk as this.

Here are some of my favorite things from TLC Thrifty Boutique…

This adorable small metal desk jumped out at me the first time I laid eyes on it. What a fabulous piece!


You know this particular area called my name. Hello 1950s kitchen! I love absolutely everything.


The cabinet, the mason jars, the canisters...love, love, love


Teresa recently picked up a load of shelves and they're so fab I want to take them all home!


Loads of smalls in this shop! I heart the radio, of course.


This darling little red shelf would be perfect for so many uses. I heart you little red shelf.


Just to get an idea, this is only about one-third of the shop!

How fantastic is this shop? Next time your near OP or even in KC, make sure you stop at TLC Thrifty Boutique and discover your new favorite second-hand store. Say hi to Teresa and tell her Erin from Grandma Great’s Treasures sent you. It probably won’t get you anything, but it’ll make me look good. 😉 Also follow the link above and like TLC on Facebook!

Earlier today I went back to an estate sale I ran to yesterday to pick up a pair of vintage 1970s Schwinn bicycles I bought. I happened to be in the right place at the right time. So many people were interested in these. The bikes are currently in the shop being looked at (incidentally I took them to the bike shop by my house and noticed the bikes had stickers from that store on them. The store had sold these bikes in the Seventies!), so more as that progresses. And since I’m always up front about prices, I paid $50 each for these beauties. The real cost will lie in the repair, but business is well, so I figure I’ve earned it. Plus, they’re so cool!

When I went back to the sale the prices were 50% off and I picked up a fantastic 1970s vintage quilt with a bold, graphic floral pattern. I’m so excited to share this and put it up for sale, I just need to take a good picture. Stay tuned!

Leave me a comment and tell me where your favorite vintage spot is! As always, happy hunting!

This post approved by Liam, showing me where the tree is in our front yard.

One Response to “Heaven in Downtown Overland Park”

  1. Don Jones September 14, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    Looks pretty good Erin, we will have to go back with you! Liam is so cool!

Leave a Reply

