Nursery Makeover

29 Aug

Last weekend seems like a blur. Due to money issues and too-many-projects-stacking-up issues, I had to cancel a trip to Wichita to see friends. It was sad, but necessary.

Friday morning I picked up a birthday gift from my mom. She laughed and asked if I was serious when I told her I wanted this. But it’s a glorious sander. It’s 4-in-1 so it is orbital, detail, super detail and flat-edge. So far, so good. I got a lot of work done on my small table project. I can’t wait to get it finished to reveal the results. It’s just fabulous.

The Rock Star has been fighting a sickness for a while and managed through a gig on Saturday that was a super blast, but unfortunately he gave us the sickness. Runny noses, sinus pressure, sore throats, earaches, no energy. It’s a tad miserable and I spent most of Sunday sleeping. Thus, the table project did not get completed. I’m still sick today but fighting through work to ship our magazine tomorrow and hopefully I’ll have some time/energy to finish the table this week.

We’re also planning a garage sale for Friday/Saturday so I’m not sure if I’m crazy or just desperate to get rid of stuff. We just had a garage sale two years ago, but my tastes have changed and somehow stuff has accumulated once again. I swear I’m not a pack rat.

Oh, I also swore off the sales last weekend to actually get some work done, so no treasures to share this week.

To fill the void, here’s another flashback from more than a year ago when we created our son’s nursery.

There is only one before picture, but the walls were a terrible shade of puke and the trim had unfortunately been painted offwhite. We loved the original trim/doors/hardware in this home, so it was sad to see it painted. This was the room we dumped everything in. And the treadmill was sadly, rarely used. It was moved to the basement (where I have used it twice in the past week, hooray!) by my uncle and cousin (crazy Insanity workout guys).

We didn’t know if we were having a boy or a girl and I didn’t want to paint the walls tan because of that. So I figured the bright teal was a good neutral for a baby. It could be accented with pink for a girl or brown for both. I opted for dark furniture to contrast and gray fabric and rug. We painted the trim white and the Rock Star, who just happens to also be a gifted artist, painted the tree on the wall over the crib. I love it so much. We went for an owl theme, which has since blown up in popularity, as has the name Liam, but I don’t mind. I also went simple with the bedding because I don’t tend to like the over-the-top matchy-matchy bed sets they make nowadays. I sewed the crib skirt myself as well as the curtains. Then just added a breathable bumper and simple white or brown sheets.

And this is his room before birth. It has definitely changed since then. I’ll post an updated pic on this post later, once it’s cleaned up enough to be presentable. 😉 Hope you enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Linking to

2 Responses to “Nursery Makeover”

  1. Amy August 29, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    LOVE! I think you brilliantly picked out things that will continue to grow with Mr. Liam!

  2. Pam August 30, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    I can attest to the big change! I remember thinking, “where are they going to put the baby?” 🙂 You guys really did a great job. Love you.

Leave a Reply

